Paper Towns Review
Blog, Drama
Aaron Tansey
June 29, 2016
0
Screen Shot 2016-06-29 at 10.30.59

Hi everyone how are you keeping. It is time for an other film review. First a bit of background about last weekend. Well, I was at a music festival in Bundoran Co. Donegal and it was one of the best music festivals I have been at. It had an attendance of just over 5000 people and some grate performers like Gavin James, Ash, and Tinie Tempah to mention just a few. What has this got to do with a movie review, well when I got home after 3 days of partying, I was the worse for wear and I wanted to know nothing about the outside world I just wanted to be left alone I could get through the hangover from hell. My way of doing this was to watch movies for the day.




I had found 3 movies on Sky Movies on Demand that I taught I would have liked, I was wrong for the most part. The first movies was the Exorcism of Molly Hartley. what can I say about this movie other then it sucked. I was expecting to be scared out of my mind but instead I was just board out of my mind. It wasn’t scary the make up wasn’t the best which aded to it not being scary and the acting of the priest was just phoned in, well that was just my opinion, plus the story line was pretty much the same as all the other movies like this. Just to give you an in site to what dose scare me The Exorcist from start to finish it a movies that I still watch with the lights on. Ok so the first choice wasn’t great time for the second one, The Fantastic Four. I have heard a lot of bad things about this movie so much so that I taught there would be no way a studio would release a movie this bad unfortunately I was wrong and they did. I will start with the acting It wasn’t great next up was the story telling it really sucked an hour in and I was like “will you give them there powers all ready” shortly after that I have done something I haven’t done in a long time and I switched it off I was done with that movie. I usually tell people take a look for yourself  but I’m not going to bother with this one as if I do you will be pissed of with me for wasting your time.

Screen Shot 2016-06-29 at 10.33.53Screen Shot 2016-06-29 at 10.34.27

It wasn’t looking good at this point until I came to the third movie Paper Towns. Paper Towns comes from the novel of the same name, and also brought to you by the same people that brought you The Fault in Our Stars. The story is that the Geek in high school likes the most popular girl in high school who just happens to live next door. One night she comes into his room and ask him for help with a few things but docent tell him what, he reluctantly goes with her to pull pranks on people who has done her wrong and they have a great night doing it. The next day the Girl disappears but leaves clues to where she has gone and so the boy sets out trying to find her and bring her back with the help of his friends and they set in on a road trip. Yes I know a road trip in a coming of age teen romance movie it has been done, but it works

Screen Shot 2016-06-29 at 10.32.38

The reason it works is because of the characters that are going on the road trip you have the 3 geeky boys and the missing girls best friend (a popular girl) and a girlfriend of one of the guys. I will say it again the reason this movie works is because of the characters making it fun. You have Austin Abrams playing Ben Starling he is that friend you had in high school who always lies about the women he has slept with and just has a lot of confidence in the face of rejection. Then you have Justice Smith playing Marcus Lincoln he has a girlfriend but he is so afraid of messing it up that he will not introduce her to his friend are family. Then you have Nat Wolff’s character Quentin Jacobsen who is chasing down Margo the Missing girl played by Cara Delevingne. The you have the misunderstood popular girl played by Halston Sage, She wants to be seen as more then the good looking girl.

Screen Shot 2016-06-29 at 10.31.32

Over all I like this movie it was well told and kept you engaged. It wasn’t the best movie in the world but it pass the time and helped me over my hangover. Now It might have been the fact that the first 2 movies were so bad that I would have watched paint dry, I don’t know but I would recommend this movie for a date night movie. If you have seen it let me know what you taught of it by leaving a comment in the comment box below. You can also check out some other reviews here. Until next time viewers keep on Viewing

Images Suplied by Google Images




Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *