My Opinion: White Washing
Blog
Aaron Tansey
August 22, 2016
2
Screen Shot 2016-08-23 at 11.26.24

There is a few things that I have an opinion on in the TV and Film industry, you might agree with me or you might disagree with me but this is what I think. As I said this is my opinion and that doesn’t mean that I am right or wrong and I welcome people to challenge me because I am open to hearing what people have to say on these maters.

First up I want to talk about whitewashing in hollywood films and casting in general.




Some people might not know what white washing is so here is the definition (correct me if I am wrong) Whitewashing is the practice where a white actor gets cast in a role meant for non-white actors. Here are some examples. Ben Affleck in Argo. He played CIA agent Tony Mendez. This one defiantly doesn’t make sense to me because Argo is based on real life events and Tony Mendez was Hispanic. I know when Hollywood makes true story movies they take some artistic license, but changing the ethnicity of a character is a bit much I think.

Screen Shot 2016-08-22 at 18.21.59

Whitewashing has been happing for a long time as seen in the 1956 epic The Conqueror. The Conqueror told the story of Genghis Khan. Genghis Khan was of Asian decent and the actor that was cast to play him was most defiantly not. John Wayne was cast as the main charter.

Screen Shot 2016-08-22 at 18.23.09Screen Shot 2016-08-22 at 18.24.05

One of the most recent whitewashing hasn’t even come out yet. It is called The Great Wall (Yes the Great Wall of China) a movie set in China and the star of the movie is Matt Damon.

Screen Shot 2016-08-22 at 18.29.21

I think I know why Hollywood contuines this practice , Some of the biggest movie stars in the world are white. The bigger the names you have in a movie the better chance you have of people going to see it. The other reason is because Hollywood makes movies primarily for the US market and the US market will go see a movie with actors they know faster then if there was a star from a different country and ethnic group that they don’t Know.

At this point I would like to point out again that this is my opinion and I could be wrong so let me know what you think.

Now I want to flip it as well because it is starting to go the other way as well with women playing mens roles and Black actors playing roles meant for white people. I think there is good and bad examples of this. First up is Marvel’s Nick Fury. In the comics Fury is White but in the movies he is played by Samuel L. Jackson. Jackson is brilliant as Nick Fury and I can’t see the Character been played by anyone else.

There is also a case of a woman playing a role that was always played by a man. In the popular CBS Show Elementary which tells the story of Sherlock Holmes in modern day America. His assistant Dr Watson is played by Lucy Liu. When I heard about this casting I was sceptical about it but they made it work and now the show is now about to go into its 5th season.

Screen Shot 2016-08-22 at 18.20.21Screen Shot 2016-08-22 at 18.20.58

There are some examples where this hasn’t worked out with the most recent being the Gostbusters reboot. They decided to remake the classic with an all girl team. I didn’t see this movie so I can’t say why it flopped so bad.

With Daniel Craig stepping down from the James bond role there is a lot of speculation about who is going to take over the role. There has be calls for a female James Bond or there has been talk about turning James Bound gay. I think this would be a mistake because since 1953 when the first book came out James Bound was a womanising spy, and I think changing that would mean that it isn’t James Bound anymore.




What I think whitewashing comes down to is what Hollywood thinks will make money. I don’t think that is should be happing as much theses days with the way the movie industry has become a more global business and China becoming a big player in that industry as well. I also think that writers need to stop remaking old movies as much and start trying to come up with more original plots and more diverse characters while Hollywood need to cast more true to the scripts.

Let me know what you think by leaving a comment below. Thanks for reading until next time keep on Viewing.

Images supplied by Google Images.




2 Responses
  1. good pice. I think you are right it does come down to money

     

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1 trackback